Quick Rewind!

I’ve been obsessed with photography since I received a ridiculously low-quality camera for Christmas when I was around 10 years old. My dad bought me my first DSLR (a Canon Rebel XS) when I started college. I learned about apertures and shutter speed by trial and error and asking random people for advice. Eventually I purchased the nifty fifty and an external flash, on a recommendation from a fellow college student, and I was in love. My photos were finally starting to look like I was expecting them to, and it was infinitely more fun.

After graduating college and finally earning money, I moved on to a Canon 7D and within the last year, a 17-55mm lens, and a 70-200mm f/2.8 lens. Amazing. The difference in quality is ridiculous, and was so worth the price. I want to share some of my favorite photos taken over the past couple of years with the 7D.

A photo contest winner from work!
A photo contest winner from work!
A long exposure experiment at an open-pit mine.
A long exposure experiment at an open-pit mine.
Not a photo contest winner, but I loved the lighting in this welding photo.
Not a photo contest winner, but I loved the lighting in this welding photo.
The canyon in the summer
The canyon in the summer
My stepdaughter, always ready for the camera
My stepdaughter, always ready for the camera
My stepson sledding
My stepson sledding
My father and soon-to-be stepmother
My father and soon-to-be stepmother
a.k.a. the most adorable couple ever
a.k.a. the most adorable couple ever
Some macro butterflies are cool too.
Some macro butterflies are cool too.
That contrast, though.
That contrast, though.
My stepdaughter's 5th birthday
My stepdaughter’s 5th birthday

So anyway, I’m really excited to start taking more photos with the intention of blogging along with them! It’s going to be great.

Leave a Reply

